First/Last (and on to our senior year at Harvard)

It’s been a long time. And I’ve missed landing my thoughts here. I think that, much like Inesha, sometimes it becomes difficult for me to figure out what to say when there is just so much to say. Since the last time I wrote, I’ve left Geneva. I’ve turned 21 years old. I’ve learned about the strength of relationships old and new. I’ve had plenty of my mom’s Sri Lankan food (and it probably shows) :). I’ve gone bike riding with my little sister on neighborhood streets that look different to me each time I come back here. I’ve gotten into a water balloon fight and then had to drive home soaking wet. I’ve spent quality time with my family (which includes many more than just the 5 of us). I’ve read a few good books (which are all, thankfully, still dry). And in two days, I’ll head back to Harvard for my senior year. It’ll be my first/last day of school and though I’ll do my best to soak it all in, I know I’m missing that too–even before it has even begun. But here’s to a senior year of college that I hope will remind me how to reminisce before all the reminiscing need be done. Holding on to memories can be so hard when they’re flying past all the time, but even before the days of snapchat, instagram, facebook and twitter, I know I found a way to do it.

I have a tendency to mark my experiences in terms of “firsts” and “lasts.” But then again, I think much of the human race does as well. My first baby steps are documented in my mom’s photo albums and of course everyone heard about the first time someone landed on the moon. Or discovered an experimental treatment for Ebola. Or made a Cronut. And then, of course, are the “lasts.” The senior year bucket lists that say without saying that we-better-hurry-up-and-do-this-or-that now, because when else are we gonna have the chance? And the tweets and posts that come flying in from the social media universe as our friends post pictures of their “first/last day of school” outfits.

But even though we tend to put things in either the first or last category, for me the emotions associated with both have really been too similar for me to separate them. Here’s to wrapping up an incredible summer (more on my adventures in Geneva soon!) and starting this year at Harvard–one that will no doubt be chock-full of firsts/lasts.

Here are a few recent snaps :)

And last but not least, a special shoutout to all of our sweet friends, family and neighbors who follow this blog and, in doing so, have taken an interest in our lives. Our very first post on this blog was in May 2012 and no doubt both Inesha and I have changed and grown in many ways in the little more than two years that have passed since. Thank you for joining in on this journey with us! You remind us how much we have to be grateful for.

 

2 thoughts on “First/Last (and on to our senior year at Harvard)”

  1. Well, I’m sure I’m not the first, and hopefully not the last, to wish you a Happy 21st Birthday with all wonderful things to come in the year ahead — you are more than deserving. I look forward to catching up with you sooner or later. All the best!

  2. Thank you, Mrs. Parker! It was so wonderful to read your kind words. I hope you have a wonderful year and that I can visit you at MW before too long!

Leave a Reply

