So we split up… From Cambridge, MA to Washington, D.C.

So Ishani and I split up… and I guess I have some explaining to do.

On Saturday, my family and I dropped Ishani off at college.

Well, those were words I never thought I’d write. Ishani and I do go to the same college after all. But the fact is, I’m not writing this post from Cambridge, MA. I’m writing it from Washington, DC. That’s right. I’m not exactly going to be experiencing sophomore fall after all.

After a lot of thought and consideration, I decided that I would take this semester off to pursue an internship opportunity in this city that I LOVE so much. And with campaign season in full bloom and fall right around the corner, I must say, I’ve got the DC-bug already!

This journey is sure to be an interesting one. Being apart from Ishani, working in a new place, and just finding my groove here is sure to be challenging, but I think I’m up for it. And if you’ll indulge me, I’d be so honored to share bits and pieces of my DC-life with you right here on this blog :)

But in the meantime, I thought I’d just send out a THANK YOU to you blog readers. This blog has been pretty magical for the two of us. Going through these posts, I savor the words and reflections, pictures and memories we’ve recorded here. This blog has taken on a life of it’s own from Richmond, VA to Tanzania, Argentina to China. And now look at us– separated by just a couple hundred miles (which, to our credit, isn’t much given our history :) to Cambridge, MA and Washington, DC. I guess life just keeps on moving and the two of us are running hard to keep up with it!  But this blog… it makes us pause every once and a while. I can’t explain it but just knowing that you readers are out there keeps us writing and sharing our lives, not just with you but with each other as well. In a crazy little way (and in a way that I’m sure you probably didn’t even suspect ;) you’ve helped keep the two of us accountable to each other. And that… that is something I know we both will be grateful for these next few months as we bridge off in very different directions, holding on to each other for support and advice, comfort and guidance.

P.s. To all my favorite Crimson kids reading this, GOOD LUCK this coming semester. Can’t wait to see y’all come sweet springtime :) And this, I give to you…

3 thoughts on “So we split up… From Cambridge, MA to Washington, D.C.”

  1. Hi, I just wanted to say how amazing your blog is! I went to school with you Inesha (but wasn’t in your grade and we didn’t really talk much) and your blog is really inspiring me! It amazes me that you and your sister find time to write such insightful, compelling, and fun articles on here all while going to college and being actively involved, which I’m sure you are. I can see how having this blog makes you stop every once and a while and think about things on a deeper level and it’s made me realize that I need more of that. I just wanted to let you know that you’ve at least inspired one person out here to be more passionate about life, not take everything too seriously, and notice what’s special about the “little” things. And I really find myself wishing I were more like you because you seem to find inspiration in more things and look past face value. So thanks, and I look forward to hearing about everything to come!

  2. Thank you so much for your kind words :) We feel heartened to hear from people who are able to share in our experiences through this blog and who inspire us in turn. And while looking past “face value” isn’t necessarily an innate ability (it certainly wasn’t for me), I really believe the reason that we do it is because thinking just a little more critically or reflecting on our experiences is what has brought us the most happiness, even when we don’t “see i to i” :) All the best and good luck for a great school year!

Leave a Reply

