Birthday Reflections: On Twinship in this Chapter of my life

I admit it. I absolutely did not want to go to college with my twin sister. I was prepared to go all the way to California (more specifically, New Haven, CT) if it meant the chance to forge my own path in college. Hey it’s not a long drive from New Haven to Cambridge, right? The point is, I wanted to go to my OWN college in my OWN new town and I wanted to do it all my OWN way. Well the cookie didn’t exactly crumble that way and boy am I so, so thankful for that.

Never did I ever think I would say… that I am SO lucky to go to school with my twin sister. This hasn’t always been the norm (we didn’t go to the same high school and our last two years of elementary school were spent apart as well—things that, ironically, I am also quite thankful for…) As twins we have always gone on the same journeys together. We do the same things, we go to the same places, we eat the same dinner. I mean I remember getting off the bus in 6th grade (we were the last stop as usual) and thanking god that I would never have to get off the bus alone… because Ishani would always be there.

But alas those days are soon coming to an end. As we go through these next few years in college I know that our trips together will be limited. We’ll part ways over summers and spring breaks and everything in between. We’ll do our own thing. And I just know that one day I’ll be sitting there hailing that bus in the city and getting off… all by myself. And I just can’t bear the thought of it. There’s only one minute between Ishani and me so it’s pretty safe to say that I’ve known her my entire life. She’s been the best sister, friend, and yes, parent a girl could ask for. She’s been there. In the messy crazy chaos that is college, she anchors me down, keeps me from falling, and yes, even wakes me up sometimes… sometimes ;) I love her more than I tell her (I really should get better at that) and feel BEYOND blessed knowing that I get to do life with her right by my side. What more could a girl ask for?

HAPPY BIRTHDAY LITTLE BIG SIS, I LOVE YOU SO!

xo nesh

 Whenever you remember times gone by
Remember how we held our heads so high
When all this world was there for us
And we believed that we could touch the sky
Whenever you remember, I’ll be there
Remember how we reached that dream together :)

One thought on “Birthday Reflections: On Twinship in this Chapter of my life”

  1. You girls are so awesome!!! LOVE the closeness that you two now share!!!! You two are going to show the world what two great twins can do!!!!!! Happy Birthday to you both!!!!

Leave a Reply

