A lil’ bit of (this) country :)

Hi there! I hope your week is off to a good start. I’ve only got three more weeks here in Buenos Aires and I just cannot believe how fast time is flying by! There are so many nooks and crannies, side streets and hole-in-the-wall cafés I have to visit… don’t even get me started.

And always high up on my to-do list is escaping this city (incredible though it may be) and seeing and experiencing the other parts of this country. Talk to anyone and they’ll tell you that once you leave the city, time moves a little slower, people talk a little more, and it all gets just a little (ok a lot) quieter.

Point in case, a couple weeks ago I went on an excursion with my program to las pampas, the Argentine countryside.  Talk about the simple life: we rode horses, we ate a long elaborate meal off of the parillada (barbecue), and we laid in the grass and looked up at that clear blue beautiful sky. There were gauchos (cowboys) to meet and fun little traditions to watch. That and the most adorable little kittens to play with. No joke.

Contrast the sweet countryside with La Boca, the oh-so-touristy colorful neighborhood with old-style colonial houses and tango dancers posing with anxious foreigners along the cobblestone streets and I figure you’ll get just a little taste of how incredibly diverse the Argentina I’ve come to know really is :) Happy rest-of-the-week!

 

One thought on “A lil’ bit of (this) country :)”

Leave a Reply

